- Shop |
- Collections & Gifts |
- Classes |
- Entertaining |
- Chefs & Stores |
- Catalog |
- Events & News
As a basic aspect to cheesemaking, it is necessary to separate the curds from the whey. Once the milk reaches the proper pH, a substance called rennet is added to coagulate the milk proteins into curds. Rennet is largely comprised of rennin, an enzyme found in the fourth stomach of ruminant animals. Most animal rennet is derived from unweaned calves. Animal rennet is a key ingredient in a great variety of cheeses, and many believe it furthers the development of complex flavor and texture during maturation. However, inconsistent supplies of animal rennet and increased market demand for animal-friendly products have caused several vegetarian alternatives to appear. The most widespread variants are vegetable rennet and microbial rennet.
I hope you enjoy our vegetarian friendly selection of fermented dairy delights.
Mcgee, Harold. "On Food and Cooking: the Science and Lore of the Kitchen" (Second Edition, Scribner, 2004)
Dairy Microbiology Handbook: The Microbiology of Milk and Milk Products, 3rd Edition Richard K. Robinson (Editor)